Author Topic: Calenture  (Read 39456 times)

Offline Urpal

• Global Moderator
  • "Light on the water, We could sail on forever"
Re: Calenture
« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2006, 10:34:23 PM »
Calenture also has a structure all of it's own which fits neatly with the title and album art work though - a sea shanty of a record about isolation, illusion, being stranded or all washed up and the constant beating of the sun and lapping of the waves.

Strangely enough I've just strayed upon this bit of news about a Hal Wilner project on the Sea Shanty featuring contributions from a stellar line-up of artists (many of whom have been suggested at one time or another for the WJKS2 project). There's an mp3 taster too. That should fit neatly with the Calenture re-issue.

Land Ho! ;)
We all have our croissants to bear

Offline lonesomesquare

« Reply #31 on: July 14, 2006, 02:18:44 AM »
I'm not a leading expert on Belgian beer but I am almost certain that at the venue they were selling Hoegaarden. I had some other white beers at other places, indeed one that you were drinking at the Century, lonesome, but at the Belgie I would lay money that I was drinking Hoegaarden. I remember the tap on the bar (before I got drunk!) and I remember talking about how I paid £4 for a pint in London once and it was only 1.50 Euros for a glass there, which worked out half the price.

I've checked with the Kunstencentrum BelgiŽ to discover that you're absolutely right, pherron. I have indeed been mixing up Belgian white beers; shame on lonesome-the-dark-beer-drinker. I owe you at least another Hoegaarden! ;)

My favourite Triffids album is BSD by the way. In my humble opinion the (strong collection of) songs on Calenture suffer from production overload, which is a real pity. Sometimes it even feels like another band going for success by doing The Triffids.
Has the Triffids got to my daisy??? (a random quote from the Gardening in Oz forum)

Offline Annie

« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2006, 02:56:53 AM »